Prompt by Dorianne Laux

[A/N: So yesterday I stayed really, really late at work (was literally the last one out) to get some assignments done. This resulted in me becoming a zombie, thus I missed posting a prompt. I’m sorry!]

This week’s poetry prompt comes fromĀ  the poems “The Gun Joke” by Jamal Mays, “The Dancing” by Gerald Stern, and “Rock Me, Mercy” by Yusef Komunyaka, and was designed by Dorianne Laux at my recent MFA residency.

To get you through the work week take 20 minutes (no more, no less) and write a poem with:

  • A tough subject matter
  • a dialectic
  • a repeated word/image/phrase
  • a list
  • a reversal
  • the phrase “what I do know”/”what I don’t know” or “what I saw”/”What I didn’t see”
  • And the words: palms, drawers, prow, battery, buzz, stomach, shuffle, funeral, tucked, button

As always, let me know in the comment section what you thought of the prompt. Have fun!

 

This entry was posted in Monday Poetry Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Prompt by Dorianne Laux

  1. Rachel says:

    Hey-I know that one! Rana, did you get a good poem from it? I did and I’ve continued to work it for the week or so since school. Just sent it off to Dorianne for her comments in my first packet. I would love to see your poem if you’d like to share. I’ll message you my email.

    Like

    • tahirra1 says:

      Hi Rachel! I did get an ok poem from it, which through drafts became good. I sent mine in to Kwame this week. I’m actually thinking about posting it up here, I’ll let you know though.

      Like

  2. Larissa says:

    More prompts, please! :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

